It is then open this summer from May to September from 2.00pm through to 4.30pm, on the following days:
Sat 14th May – Sun 15th May (National Mills Weekend)
Sun 19th June
Sun 17th July
Sun 21st August
Sun 18th September
These are wonderful opportunities to see the fascinating workings inside Rottingdean’s iconic, Grade 2 listed smock-mill dating from 1802. The mill, which has stood on Beacon Hill for over 200 years and has become a symbol of the village, overlooks both the village and the sea and can itself be seen from at least two miles away.
Rottingdean mill was built for Thomas Beard, a member of an old Rottingdean family and used to grind local corn into flour for village bakers. In 1877 the miller was George Nicholls. His young son Harry went around the village each day delivering hot rolls before going to school.
It has been known internationally since the artist Sir William Nicholson produced a woodcut of it and this design was used as the trademark for Heinemann publishers that has appeared on their books since 1897.
The windmill is now maintained by The Rottingdean Preservation Society who also organise these open days which are manned by volunteers. Although admission is free, donations are always welcome to help with the Society’s invaluable work.
No booking required
Wheelchair access: to the ground floor
Parking: available in the village
For more information about the windmill, please call the Grange on 01273 301004